Google Drive Trash Policy: Google Drive Will Delete Trash after 30 Days: Google will be changing the retention policies for items located as Trash in Google Drive. Based on this new policy, files that a user has put into a Google Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days of no restoring.
Google Drive Trash Policy: Google Drive Will Delete Trash after 30 Days
Google CEO in a speech-making, quoted that; “data deletion changes affect items from any device or platform, and it didn’t mention there is no impact to Backup and Sync features”. Google Drive users are required to have updated to the latest version before the deadline. The New Google Drive Trash Policy is applicable to users on Android and iOS as well.
Google launches new Meet hardware for Businesses
The company – Google has brought up a hardware series that actively works in tandem with Meet. Which is the first meeting room hardware ever known. Users can access an 8-channel speaker with noise cancellation, a Next Hub Max for controlling the activities on this feature. There is also an availability of a webcam to enable users to make video meetings work.
Other Additional Details
Policy change notes
- Admins on Google Drive can still restore items deleted from a user’s trash after or before 25 days of deleting the files for active users.
- Retention policies set by admins in Google Vault will not be affected by the new policy change.
- The new policy changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any Google platform.
- Files deleted via Drive File Stream will be removed from the system trash after 30 days of inactivity with them.
- Files in shared drives trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days without touch.
In-app Notification for Users
As this policy takes effect, Google will provide a banner to users to notify them of details about the change. Google will also be sent to users an in-app notification in Drive starting today and in our Editors products (e.g., Google Docs and Google Forms) starting from September 29th, 2020.